Program Your Brain to Enjoy Hard Habits

Vidhyashankar
2 min readApr 7, 2024

--

Source : Midjourney

Developing a routine that includes waking up at seven in the morning, hitting the gym before work, and enjoying a nutritious breakfast has transformed my life in unexpected ways. Previously, I followed a pattern of waking up late, skipping breakfast, arriving at work tired, and struggling to maintain focus throughout the day. However, with this newfound routine, I’ve never felt better. Not only do I have more energy and focus, but I also find myself more productive at work. The key to this transformation lies in this one simple trick, a perspective change.

Perspective change

You can make all your hard habits more attractive. All you need is a mindset shit. The mindset shift is to not see these so called hard behaviors as burdens but rather as opportunities. Waking up at nine in the morning used to be my daily routine, skip my breakfast , go to work late and come home late very tired. With this perspective change I am more energetic now and more productive.

The key point is to re frame your habits to highlight the benefits rather than their drawbacks is a better and a faster way to reprogram the mind. Instead of viewing these habits as burdensome tasks, I’ve learned to see them as opportunities for growth and improvement. By re framing my mindset, I’ve shifted my perspective from focusing on the drawbacks of these habits to recognizing their benefits. For instance, rather than dreading exercise as draining my energy, I now view it as an opportunity to enhance my health and build strength. Similarly, I used to associate saving money with sacrifice, believing that spending freely equated to freedom. However, by changing my perspective to see saving as a means to increase my future purchasing power, I’ve been able to prioritize financial health without feeling deprived. I soon realized by having this simple habit of perspective change I was conditioning myself to do all the hard habits which I previously thought of as a daunting task. I am trying to adapt this strategy to every other aspect of my life.

Ultimately, the key to transforming hard habits into enjoyable ones lies in re-framing the associations we have with them. While it may not be easy, making this shift in perspective can lead to profound changes in our lives. With dedication and practice, anyone can learn to see the value in these habits and reap the benefits they offer.

--

--

Vidhyashankar

Exploring the intricate world of microchips and circuits. Beyond clean rooms and laboratories, my passion lies in the area of solar energy and sustainability